Sunday Morning Breakfast: Carrot Cake Muffins with Melting Coconut-Almond Icing

I woke up before the sun this morning to “Say a Prayer” by Aretha Franklin. I couldn’t help but be in a good mood.  I really feel like I have my life together when 1. I wake up to Aretha, and 2. I wake up as she sings “From the  moment I wake up…”

I read some of The Simple Path by Mother Teresa and how Jacob moved his whole life (again) to Egypt because he heard Joseph was alive.

I drank too much coffee and stared longer than I had time for out the window at the birds chasing each other and singing their Sunday song.  There’s not as much of that in a courtyard of concrete as there was in the tree-laden hills of Arkansas.

In these practices, my heart was quieted in the first few moments of daylight, and it was a true Sunday morning–baptizing, sacred, familiar, new.

After my first few Sunday morning rituals, I got up from my comfy couch nook, turned on the Sara Groves Pandora station and began making breakfast.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

A few weeks ago, I made zucchini bread, and I have made it a few times since. A few days ago, I accidentally put twice as much maple syrup in the batter and couldn’t figure out why the bread wouldn’t solidify. Then I realized my mistake and accepted that it was my brain telling me to eat more maple syrup. That had to be it. I accept, brain. You’re right.

Anyway, I’ve mentioned before my obsession with the 5-lb. bag of carrots at Whole Foods. 5 lbs of organic carrots for less than $5, people! I don’t think Whole Foods has realized what it’s doing.

So I’ve been trying to find more ways of incorporating carrots in our diet because I’m not a huge fan of raw carrots or steamed carrots, which I realize is ironic. But 5 lbs of carrots for less than $5!  You can’t pass that up.

I found a vegan carrot cake muffin recipe, and I tweaked it to make it oil-free and smothered in coconut cream.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

The coconut cream is not true icing in that it doesn’t harden or even stay on top of the muffin. Once it hits a warm muffin, it begins to surrender to the carrot cake muffin and melt into happiness. It’s a celebration of vegetables and cream.  It’s a symbol of what happens to my cells as carrots enter swimming in coconut cream–they surrender, they accept.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Carrot Cake Muffins with Melting Coconut-Almond Icing
Adapted from Beth’s recipe at Tasty Yummies
Makes 12 muffins

Muffin Ingredients:
2 c. oat flour
1 tsp. baking soda
Dash of cinnamon
Dash of nutmeg
1/4 c. unsweetened coconut flakes
2 flax eggs (2 tbs. ground flaxseed with 6 tbsp. water mixed together)
1/4 c. pureed pumpkin
1/4 c. maple syrup
1/4 c. soy milk
1 tsp. vanilla
1/4 c. chopped walnuts
1/4 c. raisins
1 c. shredded carrot

Icing Ingredients:
2 5.4-oz. cans of coconut cream*
3 tbsp. maple syrup
Handful of roasted almonds, ground

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Prepare flax eggs and set aside while you mix other ingredients together.

Combine first four ingredients in a big bowl. Then add coconut.

Mix wet ingredients, including flax eggs, in a separate bowl until completely blended.

Combine dry and wet ingredients and stir until blended. Add walnuts, raisins, and carrots.

Scoop into muffin pan and cook for 25 minutes.

While muffins are cooking, ground almonds and maple syrup together.

Scoop coconut cream (make sure you don’t scoop out coconut water) into a bowl. Add almond and maple syrup mixture. Whisk together until completely blended.

Once muffins are done, let cool in pan for a few minutes. Then take them out and place on a cooling rack for a few minutes.

Smooth icing** on top of the muffins and feed to groggy husbands.

*For best results, refrigerate the coconut cream the night before.

**Because of the nature of the coconut cream, the icing will melt a little bit over your muffin. If you don’t want that, don’t add the icing.

How do you get more vegetables into your diet?

Leave a Reply

