Plant-Based Zucchini Bread

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Dessert breads have been the bane of my vegan existence. My mom used to make amazing banana bread growing up, and since we’ve transitioned into a plant-based lifestyle, it’s been very difficult to find a good bread recipe. It’s either been dense and dry, or runny no matter how long I cook it. I had almost given up.

But yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of breadlessness, I will fear no famine for He with me. Give us this day our daily bread.  Or something like that.

I have been a fan of zucchini for some time because it can be eaten raw (raw lasagna, anyone?), sauteed, baked, steamed, you name it. I’ve been looking for a good zucchini bread recipe for a few months, and I was delighted to find a vegan recipe for zucchini bread that didn’t use oil or vegan butter. It’s all plant-based ingredients!

This is not my personal recipe. I changed a few things from Will Cook for Friends‘ recipe, so check her blog out! This bread is moist, rich, and makes for an amazing breakfast.

 Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Zucchini Bread
(Adapted from Willow Arlen from Will Cook For Friends)

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 TBSP ground flax meal (and 6 TBSP water)
1/4 c. maple syrup
1/4 c. honey
1 1/2 cup grated zucchini (approx. 1 1/2 medium-size zucchinis)
1/3 c chopped roasted almonds

Preheat oven to 350f.

Combine flax and water to make a “flax egg.”   Set aside to gel while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.

Whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger in a large bowl.

Grate zucchini.  My zucchini wasn’t quite grated–it was cut into 1-inch slivers from my Salad Master.

Add applesauce, maple syrup, and vanilla extract to the flax egg, and whisk until combined. Pour over the dry ingredients and mix.

Add grated zucchini and almonds, and stir until completely mixed.

Pour into a loaf pan or an 8-inch cake pan, and bake for 50 minutes.  It will be done when a toothpick comes out clean.

Slice and serve to hungry husbands.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

What’s your favorite thing to do with zucchini?

2 thoughts on “Plant-Based Zucchini Bread

Leave a Reply

