Super Creamy Hot Chocolate

20140107_202325

With the reversal of global warming this week across the United States, there has been a lot of warm cooking going in my kitchen.  For some reason, I always make my friend’s curry when it’s blustery and bleak outside.  I also make homemade hot chocolate (which is way, way, way better in taste and nutrition than processed sugar powder!) and remember why I love winter.

This week is homecoming week at school, and I’m the cheer coach… so my main focus at home is to stay awake until 8 pm.  Did I mention we have morning practices?

So the other night, my wonderful husband volunteered to make the hot chocolate, and his recipe turned out to be the best to date!  All credit goes to JD for this mouth-watering, thick, super creamy hot chocolate.

You probably have all the ingredients in your kitchen already, so it’s fine by me if you continue reading this as you throw things in a blender!  Just remember it’s hot before you attempt to guzzle it.

 Super Creamy Hot Chocolate
Makes 2 mugs

Ingredients:
3 c. coconut milk
2 tbs. dark chocolate chips
2 heaping tbs. unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tbs. maple syrup

Heat milk on the stove at medium heat.  While heating, drop chocolate chips in the pot and stir often.

Once chocolate is melted and milk is warm enough, pour milk in blender and add cocoa powder and maple syrup.

Blend the mixture until fluffy, creamy, and foamy.  Pour into your favorite mug and enjoy!

20140107_202335

What’s your favorite winter treat?

Leave a Reply

