Plant-strong French Toast Casserole

image (3)

When I was younger, my cousin Rachael and I were great friends. I would sleep over at her house on the weekends and we’d play Guess Who? until the wee hours of the morning. Then we would wake up and eat my Nonna’s French toast casserole and play Barbies until my mom tore me away mid-morning. It was childhood bliss.

I’ve been searching for a vegan equivalent to French toast for awhile because 1. I love French toast, and 2. There is this amazing Hungarian breakfast that’s like a salty French toast that I’ve been wanting to make.

I found a few different recipes and kind of merged them together one evening, planning to make French toast the next morning. Then I had a great idea! Why not make French toast casserole? It would take less time and nostalgically taste better. Bingo.

This recipe is a winner for a few reasons:
1. It literally takes no time in the morning because the minimal prep work is completed in the evening.
2. It tastes heavenly.
3. It’s good for you.
4. Leftover silken yogurt makes for some great berry yogurt (blend with some frozen berries and honey and voila!).

Plant-strong French Toast Casserole
Serves 6

Ingredients:
1 c. silken tofu
2 c. soy/almond milk
4 tbs. honey or maple syrup
4 tbs. flaxseed
2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. vanilla
1 loaf of bread
Maple syrup and/or berry soy yogurt for garnish (optional)

The night before, blend all ingredients except the bread and optional ingredients until liquefied.

Halve slices of bread diagonally and fill up a 13×9 pan. You may not use the entire the loaf of bread.

Then pour over tofu mixture of bread and refrigerate over night.

The next morning, bake the casserole at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Drown it in maple syrup or yogurt and enjoy!

image
image (2)

What was your favorite breakfast as a kid?

Leave a Reply

