Veggie Lettuce Wraps

Image

When JD and I first got married, I barely knew how to stir vegetables in a skillet. I’m fairly certain we ate sticky, burnt vegetables more than once, but we were young and in love.  And poor.  We were lucky to even have vegetables.

After a while, under the tutelage of some cookbooks and experience, I learned more about cooking food and how different flavors go together. I found a decent recipe for lettuce wraps (PF Chang fans know what I’m talking about!), and I might have made it every other week for a few months. It was easy and delicious, and I didn’t have to be very kitchen savvy to make it.

Thankfully, my kitchen skills have improved greatly since then. I’ve modified the recipe a lot and made it my own, plant-based and all. This meal takes about 30 minutes and is packed with flavor and nutrition. Even non-plant-based people rave about it!

I’ve included some variations at the bottom.  I typically make it with whatever mixed vegetable and teriyaki sauce is in my kitchen, so it changes every time.

20131213_175833

May your cabbage leaves be as full as your bellies.

Veggie Lettuce Wraps
Serves 4

Ingredients:
2 bags stir-fry vegetables, finely chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/3 c. teriyaki sauce (I used sesame teriyaki this time)
1/4 c. hoisin sauce
3 tbsp. peanut butter
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1 tbsp. rice vinegar
Sesame seeds for garnish

Red cabbage leaves

Blend veggies and garlic until they are very finely chopped. Heat chopped veggies with a splash of lemon juice on medium-high. Once heated through, add sauces, peanut butter, vinegar, and ginger. Stir for 5 minutes and then turn off heat. Add sesame seeds.

Scoop a big spoonful onto a cabbage leaf and enjoy!

Variations: Substitute a lb. of ground tofu for a bag of veggies (marinate tofu for a few minutes in teriyaki). Use different types of teriyaki sauces.  Use green cabbage or your favorite green.  You can also wilt your cabbage leaf in a toaster oven for about a minute if you like really soft lettuce.

What are your tried and true recipes?

Leave a Reply

