Sunday Morning Breakfast: Pumpkin Pie Pancakes

20131201_08230820131201_084036

I could say it all started on Instagram, but truly Sunday Morning Breakfast started long before that. 

I look back on Sunday mornings growing up fondly. I remember waking up to the smell of bacon or pancakes or cinnamon rolls, and that was enough to get me up and out of bed. My family would gather around the pan of cinnamon rolls or the plate of pancakes and for a moment, be peaceful. We’re all familiar with the chaos of Sunday mornings before church, right?

I’ve carried on this tradition in my home, and Sunday mornings are just as special. Now I’m the one waking JD up with the smell of whatever is cooking in the kitchen, and we value the time we spend every week sharing the maple syrup and getting our hearts ready for the church service.

I look forward to hearing little feet coming down the hall telling me that my kitchen is about to get messier. But until then, I want to have breakfast with you.

I had some leftover pumpkin pie from Thanksgiving, and I certainly didn’t want anything pumpkin to go to waste! So of course I made pancakes. We live on pancakes and tacos around here.

If you have leftover pumpkin pie, here’s a recipe for you. Have breakfast with us!

Pumpkin Pie Pancakes
Makes 12-14 pancakes

2 1/4 c. of soy/almond milk
1 banana, mashed
1/2 pan of pumpkin pie (about 2 c.)*
3 c. whole wheat pastry flour
3 tbs. maple syrup
3 tsp. vanilla extract
3 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg

Heat griddle to 350 degrees.

Blend all wet ingredients with a hand-mixer. When using whole wheat flours, you really need to make your liquid as liquid as possible to make the pancakes fluffy. You could also throw all of the wet ingredients in a stand-up blender if you don’t have a hand-mixer.

Then add dry ingredients and stir until mostly smooth and there is no remaining dry flour.

Ladle on about 1/2 c. of mix onto griddle. When edges of pancake start to solidify, flip and wait 2-3 minutes.

Serve with fruit, maple syrup, coconut whipped cream, or whatever you like!

*My pumpkin pie was made from organic pureed pumpkin and cashews.

What do you do with your Thanksgiving leftovers?

One thought on “Sunday Morning Breakfast: Pumpkin Pie Pancakes

Leave a Reply

